Governing Board

The Governing Board is made up of 9 elected Trustees. Together with the Secretary General, the Governing Board sets the strategic direction and oversees the good governance of CISV International. Among other responsibilities, this includes supporting and evaluating the Secretary General and safeguarding our assets. The Governing Board reports to the Members of CISV International, our National Associations.


The Governing Board generally meets between 8-10 times per year. Most meetings last 3-4 hours and are virtual. There are two in-person meetings annually, lasting for 3 days each. These are usually held at our International Office in Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK. Additionally, 1-2 Trustees attend each of the three regional CISV meetings, and one Trustee sometimes attends the International Junior Branch Conference. The board recognizes that these in-person meetings and associated travel result in carbon emissions. We therefore offset board travel via UK-based Carbon Footprint. We know there is more to do around sustainability and care for our planet; please consider this one small step. March 2023 will be the first in-person meeting since the beginning of the global Covid-19 pandemic.

Governing Board Year

Meetings for the September 2022 to August 2023 Governing Board year will be as follows:

Start Date End Date Days Start (UK time) End (UK time) Virtual/In-person
17 September 2022 19 September 2022 Sat, Sun, Mon 13:00 17:00 Virtual
16 October 2022 Sun 13:30 17:30 Virtual
26 November 2022 Sat 13:30 17:30 Virtual
21 January 2023 22 January 2023 Sat, Sun 13:30 17:30 Virtual
10 March 2023 12 March 2023 Fri, Sat, Sun 08:30 17:30 In-person
15 April 2023 Sat 13:30 17:30 Virtual
17 June 2023 18 June 2023 Sat, Sun 13:30 17:30 Virtual
6 August 2023 Sun 13:30 17:30 Virtual

Minutes from all Governing Board Meetings are available here. You can see details of the Committees of the Governing Board and links to committee meeting minutes at the bottom of this page. Get in touch: contact the Governing Board.

Meet our Governing Board

Tanya Pérez Echeverría

Secretary General

Mary Rae Shantz

3 year term: 2021-2024

Ana Maria Cueva Batallas

3 year term: 2021-2024

Grace Vottero

3 year term: 2021-2024

Marlien McKay

3 year term: 2020-2023

Nicole Offergeld

3 year term: 2022-2025

Yurek McKelligan

3 year term: 2022-2025

Natasha Clarita

3 year term: 2022-2025

Francisco Pavao Martins

3 year term: 2020-2023

Esti Sindhunatha

3 year term: 2020-2023

Committees and Teams

Board Committees

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
Contact us:

Committee meeting minutes

Finance Committee
Contact us:

Committee meeting minutes

Governance Committee

Contact us:

Committee meeting minutes

Safeguarding Committee
Please note this Committee is currently operating as the Risk Management and Safeguarding Committee.

Election Committee

Please note the Election Committee is a sub-group of the Governance Committee. You can contact us at:

Operational Committees

Communications, Fundraising & Partnerships Committee
Please note this Committee has not yet been formed.

Education & Research Committee
Contact us:

Organisational Development Committee
Contact us:

Training Committee
Please note this Committee has not yet been formed. Work is currently being done by the Training Implementation Team.

Verification Committee
Contact us:

International Junior Branch Team
Contact us:

Strategic Project Teams

Clarity Working Group
Decarbonizing CISV
Contact us:

  • Mary Rae Shantz, Decarbonizing CISV Liaison
Organizational Advancement
Contact us:

  • Grace Vottero, Organizational Advancement Coordinator
  • Esti Sindhunatha, Organizational Development Liaison
  • Yurek McKelligan, Organizational Development Liaison
People Strategy Working Group
Contact us:

Training Strategy Project Team
Contact us:

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.