Governing Board Elections 2020 

The call for candidates for the CISV International Governing Board election for 2020 is now open!   

The 2020 elections will be for four Governing Board Trustees. Three trustees will serve three-year terms (2020-2023) and one trustee will serve a one-year term (2020-2021).

The Governance Team has conducted an analysis of the Governing Board’s self-reported individual strengths and gaps of remaining Board members (those whose term does not end in 2020). This may be helpful to both potential candidates and National Associations.  The results will be published shortly.  Candidates who are able to fill the skills gaps would be beneficial.

If you have a candidate in mind or are thinking of running for election yourself, the following information and documents will give you an idea of the commitment and skills required and the terms of office.

Any individual qualified to serve on the Governing Board can become a candidate for election to the Governing Board by submitting a fully and properly completed Governing Board Candidate Information package by 15 May (23.59 UTC).


Election Procedures for the Governing Board

We strongly suggest you submit your completed Information Package well in advance of the deadline. The sooner your package is complete the sooner your name can be published in the regular updates of official candidates.

Be reminded that you cannot be accepted as a candidate unless we have received your fully completed Information Package by 15 May (no later than 23:59 UTC).

Please note that if you are elected you will need to attend the Governing Board in-person meeting on 11-13 September 2020 with an orientation day on 10 September 2020 in Newcastle upon Tyne, England.

As the Election Committee is not a nominating body, if you do not wish to run but have someone else in mind as a potential candidate, please contact them directly to encourage their participation.


Governing Board Elections 2020 Candidate Information Package  

This package consists of the following forms:

  • Governing Board Candidate Information Form (this must be completed, signed and submitted directly to the Election Committeeby the applicant)
  • Endorsement Forms (two) for Governing Board Candidate (these must be completed, signed and submitted directly to the Election Committeeby the endorsers)
  • Governing Board Candidate Confirmation of Membership and Background Check (this must be completed, signed and submitted directly to the Election Committeeby the National Association of the candidate)

Please note that all completed forms and checks must be sent (in Word format) to  


Please also read the following documents carefully:

  • Governing Board Terms of Reference
  • Trustees Code of Conduct
  • Conflict of Interest Policy


If you have any questions, please visit our Governing Board Election FAQ page or contact the Election Committee  


The members of the 2020 Election Committee are: Daniel Edelshaim, Danielle Walker and Nadia Igsiz 


This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.